SPAHP Faculty and Staff Receive Awards
SPAHP Faculty and Staff Receive Awards

The Faculty Development and Recognitions Committee presented five School of Pharmacy and Health Professions recipients with the following awards:wards:

Faculty Research Awards

 Service Award: Kathleen Packard, PharmD

Kathleen PackardFor her extensive breadth and depth of service within the school and local community, along with her immense amount of state-level service, including being elected American College of Cardiology Cardiovascular Team Nebraska State Liaison and serving as the pharmacy director for Clinic with a Heart, a free urgent care clinic for the uninsured in Lincoln, Neb., the Service Award was presented to Kathleen Packard, PharmD, associate professor of pharmacy practice. The Service Award is presented to a school faculty member in recognition of outstanding service to the community and to the University.


Scholarly Achievement Award:  Jeffrey North, PharmD

Jeffrey NorthFor exhibiting high achievement in scholarly activity, Jeffrey North, PharmD, received the Scholarly Achievement Award. His achievements include having acquired two intramural and two extramural research grants for development of novel anti-tuberculosis agents and having research published in Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy and ACS Infectious Diseases. The Scholarly Achievement Award is presented to a school faculty member who has exhibited the highest achievement in scholarly activity through publications, grantsmanship and scholarly presentations.


Excellence in Teaching Award: J.B. Barr, DPT

J.B. BarrFor his high-quality teaching and demonstrated dedication and concern for students, J.B. Barr, DPT, received the Excellence in Teaching Award. The award noted his ability to demonstrate techniques and facilitate learning in the lab environment, which is a direct correlation to students’ ability to perform in a clinical situation. The Excellence in Teaching Award is presented to the school faculty member who has demonstrated the highest quality of teaching, exemplified by professional competence, communication and evaluation skills and effective interpersonal interaction.

Staff Awards

The Staff Excellence Award is presented to staff members who are innovative and collaborative on tasks and projects and who support team decisions and projects, actively contributing to help the team achieve its shared goals.


Staff Excellence Award: Liz Gustin

Liz GustinFor being a crucial component to high-quality student and faculty support throughout the year as well as being ethical and meticulous, which creates a successful licensure process for SPAHP students, Liz Dustin, administrative assistant III, received the Staff Excellence Award. Her dedication and hard work in the Office of Academic and Student Affairs makes Dustin an integral part of the team.


Staff Excellence Award: Nancy Walker

Nancy WalkerFor understanding the importance of collaboration and maintaining positive relationships with stakeholder groups, along with being enthusiastic and working autonomously and efficiently, Nancy Walker, associate business administrator, also received the Staff Excellence Award. Walker is proactive in identifying ways to improve and streamline processes, such as the development of a quarterly newsletter that provides news and updates to students.


Faculty Endowed Fund

Alexander J. and Martha H. Forst Faculty Endowed Fund: Amy Pick, PharmD

Amy PickThe Alexander J. and Martha H. Forst Faculty Endowed Fund was awarded to Amy Pick, PharmD, for demonstrated excellence in the classroom. At the discretion of the recipient, the award may be utilized by the faculty member to enhance professional development of teaching, scholarship or service.